Five Good Things About Cutting Weight

8 Oct

boats and oars, necessary items for rowing

I’m on a rowing (crew) team, which is pretty awesome.  What is less awesome is that my weight is directly relevant to my participation.  Don’t get me wrong – I’ve been active in this sport for over a decade, a decade during which I have steadfastly refused to do anything less than healthy to drop a couple of pounds.  I’m also lucky that it really is only a couple of pounds and I learned to allow myself plenty of time to do it.  I don’t enjoy cutting weight the same way I enjoy, say, cheese or ice cream or wine; but I am at a point where it doesn’t bother me to do.  Here are some good things about cutting weight.

1.) Working out becomes a priority.  Instead making excuses, I make moves to the gym or outside.  I legitimately enjoy working out; it’s sometimes just hard to motivate to get started.

2.) It’s a great excuse to buy – and eat – fresh produce.  I’m horrible company when hungry, so I snack on a lot of fresh fruits and veggies.  (I also eat a lot of fresh fruits and veggies at meals.)

3.) Similar to #2, I also splurge on some nicer cuts of leaner meats.  I’m more aware of what I am eating, so I want it to be worth eating.  (Aside, I’m not much of a calorie counter – nosh too much – but I doubt I go below 1800 calories per day and would advise any readers to not make calorie cuts without talking to their physician.  Seriously.  You’ll make yourself sick and kill your metabolism.  For me, it’s about making better food choices – there’s always food involved…it’s just heavier on the strawberries and lighter on the strawberry Pop Tarts.)

4.) Having me at weight, without sacrificing performance, means my team will do better.

5.) There are a few pairs of pants in my closet that only fit when I’m at weight.  Initially, I just sucked it up and wore pants that were too big and cinched my belts like whoa.  That is less than fun, so a couple of years back I bought some new jeans.

Leave a Reply

